Smith.ai vs YouSquared
Smith.ai is an AI receptionist with paid human agents behind it, sold to businesses from $150 a month. YouSquared is AI end to end, from $0 for one person and $1 a call for a business, with the EHR integrations and the BAA that Smith.ai says it does not offer.
Pick Smith.ai if
- You want live human agents as a paid backup behind the AI.
- Your law firm runs on Clio, Filevine, MyCase or PracticePanther.
- You want Salesforce or HubSpot connected natively rather than through Zapier.
Pick YouSquared if
- You are one person, or you want a plan that starts at $0.
- You run a healthcare practice: Smith.ai states it is not HIPAA compliant.
- You pay per call at volume: $1.00 against $1.60 to $2.00 at Smith.ai's plan prices, and more past a bucket.
- Your callers speak more than English and Spanish.
What each one charges
Smith.ai's figures as published on 2026-09-17; YouSquared's from our pricing page.
| Row | Smith.ai | YouSquared |
|---|---|---|
| How it bills | Smith.aiPer call, in monthly call buckets, on both its AI Receptionist plans and its human Virtual Receptionist plans. | YouSquaredPer call on Business plans: $1.00 a call for the first 1,000 calls a month, $0.80 a call after. Personal plans are a flat monthly price. |
| Plans and prices | Smith.aiAI: Free for 25 calls a month ($3.00 a call after), Pro $150 a month for 75 calls, Enterprise $500 a month for 300 calls. Human: Starter $300 a month for 30 calls, Basic $810 for 90, Pro $2,100 for 300. | YouSquaredPersonal: Free at $0 (20 AI calls a month), Pro $29.99, Elite $59.99. Business from $50 a month for 50 calls, your volume up to 3,000. Enterprise above that. |
| What a plan includes | Smith.aiA dedicated number, spam blocked at no charge, the first CRM integration, and 1 to 10 transfer destinations by plan. On human plans, booking ($1.50 a call), text follow-up ($0.50), recording ($0.25) and a Spanish line ($1.00) are per-call add-ons. | YouSquaredEvery plan: 24/7 answering, screening, spam filtering, summaries, transcripts, recordings, a live transcript you can join. Pro and up: scheduling, texts, a dedicated number. Business: team transfers, business hours, integrations, a BAA. |
| Past the limit | Smith.aiAI: $2.50 a call on Pro, $2.10 to $2.17 on Enterprise. Human: $11.50 a call on Starter, $10.50 on Basic, $8.50 on Pro. | YouSquaredBusiness: extra calls at your plan's per-call rate, or auto top-up. Personal plans stop answering at the limit until the cycle resets. |
| Free plan or trial | Smith.aiNo trial. The AI Free plan is 25 calls a month, free for as long as you keep it. | YouSquaredThe Free plan needs no card. Business: 14-day free trial with a card on file, nothing charged until it ends. |
| Contract | Smith.aiMonth to month. AI plans need 30 days' notice to cancel; human plans 10% off for a 12-month term. | YouSquaredMonth to month, cancel anytime. Personal plans monthly or yearly (15% off yearly). |
| Refunds | Smith.aiHuman and chat plans: a full refund within the first 30 days, up to $1,000. Not offered on the AI line. | YouSquaredNone except where the law requires; you keep the plan through the period you paid for. |
What each one does
Yes, no or partly, with the detail. "Not stated" means Smith.ai's pages say nothing about it, which is not the same as no.
| Row | Smith.ai | YouSquared |
|---|---|---|
| Answers 24/7 | Smith.ai Yes. 24/7/365. Transfers to you stop after your business hours (9 PM Pacific if you set none). | YouSquared Yes. On every plan, Free included. |
| Live human receptionists | Smith.ai Yes. Its own product: 500+ North American agents. AI plans escalate to them, free when the AI initiates it. | YouSquared No. AI end to end. Transfers go to people you choose: you, teammates, hunt groups, outside numbers. |
| Books appointments on the call | Smith.ai Yes. AI scheduling with Calendly, Acuity and others. A $1.50 per-call add-on on human plans. | YouSquared Yes. On the call, into Google Calendar or Outlook; into the practice schedule for a dozen EHRs. Pro and up. |
| Texts from your business number | Smith.ai Partly. Text and email follow-up is a $0.50 per-call add-on on human plans. Not stated for the AI plans. | YouSquared Yes. Confirmations, missed-call texts and replies from your AI number. Pro and up. |
| Dedicated business number | Smith.ai Yes. A free local or toll-free number; porting is free. | YouSquared Yes. Included with Pro, Elite and Business. US or Canada, in the area code you choose. |
| Transfers to a person | Smith.ai Yes. Warm transfers with context. | YouSquared Yes. To you on personal plans. To teammates, hunt groups and outside numbers, with a warm handoff, on Business. |
| Spam and robocall screening | Smith.ai Yes. Blocks a list of 20 million+ known spam and robocall numbers, at no charge. | YouSquared Yes. Judged on what the caller says, so a brand-new number is caught too. Mark a contact as spam and it never rings again. |
| Languages | Smith.ai Partly. English and Spanish. A dedicated Spanish line is $1.00 a call on human plans. | YouSquared Yes. 32+ languages, switching when the caller does. |
| Integrations | Smith.ai Yes. Clio, Filevine, Lawmatics, MyCase, PracticePanther, Smokeball, Salesforce, HubSpot; Zapier and Make. | YouSquared Yes. Google Calendar and Outlook. A dozen EHRs (Athena, eClinicalWorks, Practice Fusion and more), Lead Docket, Zapier and webhooks on Business. |
| HIPAA, with a signed BAA | Smith.ai No. “Smith.ai is not HIPAA-compliant and cannot handle protected health information,” per its own medical page. No BAA. | YouSquared Yes. A signed BAA on Business and Enterprise plans. SOC 2, PIPEDA-aligned. |
| Mobile and web apps | Smith.ai Not stated. A web dashboard. No mobile app listed on its site. | YouSquared Yes. iOS app on the App Store. The web app installs on Android and desktop. |
| Free plan | Smith.ai Yes. 25 AI calls a month. | YouSquared Yes. $0, 20 AI calls a month, no card. |
What a month costs
Calls a month at about three minutes each, one-time callers, on the AI Receptionist plans.
| Row | Smith.ai | YouSquared Business |
|---|---|---|
| 100 calls a month | Smith.ai$212.50 on Pro (75 calls, then 25 at $2.50), or $270 on the 150-call bucket | YouSquared Business$100 (100 calls at $1.00) |
| 300 calls a month | Smith.ai$500 on Enterprise (300 calls) | YouSquared Business$300 (300 calls at $1.00) |
Where Smith.ai is the better choice
Live agents behind the AI
Smith.ai staffs 500+ agents in North America and can hand a call from the AI to one of them. YouSquared never staffs the other end: a transfer goes to a person you set up, and on every plan you can watch the transcript live and join the call yourself.
Legal practice management
Clio Grow and Manage, Filevine, Lawmatics, MyCase, PracticePanther, Smokeball: Smith.ai integrates with the systems small firms run on. YouSquared integrates with Lead Docket, so a firm on Clio has a shorter path with Smith.ai.
Salesforce and HubSpot, natively
Smith.ai connects to both out of the box, plus Zapier and Make. YouSquared's route today is Zapier and webhooks.
Where YouSquared is the better choice
A plan for one person
YouSquared's Free plan costs nothing and Pro is $29.99 a month, for one person's line. Smith.ai's lowest paid plan is $150 a month and every plan is scoped for a business.
Healthcare
YouSquared books into a dozen EHRs and signs a BAA on Business plans. Smith.ai's medical page states it is not HIPAA compliant and cannot handle PHI.
Price per call at volume
YouSquared's Business plan is $1.00 a call, $0.80 past 1,000 calls a month. Smith.ai's AI plans work out to $1.67 to $2.00 a call at the plan price ($1.60 at its largest bucket, per its homepage) and $2.10 to $2.50 for calls past a bucket; its human plans to $7 to $11.50.
Languages
YouSquared answers in 32+ languages and switches mid-call. Smith.ai handles English and Spanish.
Your phone
YouSquared has an iOS app and an installable web app, streams every call live and lets you join in. Smith.ai's site lists a web dashboard and no mobile app.
Smith.ai or YouSquared?
The questions people ask before switching.
Sources
- smith.ai/pricing
- smith.ai/pricing/ai-receptionist
- smith.ai medical and wellness page
- docs.smith.ai money-back guarantee
- smith.ai/integrations
Smith.ai prices, plans and features were read from its public pages on 2026-09-17 and may have changed since; where its pages disagree, both versions are quoted. YouSquared figures are from our pricing page. Smith.ai is a trademark of its owner, and this page is not affiliated with or endorsed by it.
The other comparisons
Same template, same date, different vendor.
Ruby vs YouSquared
Ruby answers with US-based people, per minute from $250 a month. YouSquared answers with AI, per call from $1, and free for one person. Side by side.
ExploreGoodcall vs YouSquared
Goodcall bills per agent and unique caller, $79 to $249 a month, unlimited minutes. YouSquared bills per call, from $0 for one person. Where each one wins.
ExploreFrontdesk vs YouSquared
Frontdesk (formerly My AI Front Desk) sells a $99 bundle: 200 voice minutes plus SMS, chat and a CRM. YouSquared sells calls, from $0 for one person. Compared.
ExploreDialzara vs YouSquared
Dialzara sells AI answering by the minute, from $29 a month for 60 minutes. YouSquared sells it by the call, from $1, and free for one person. Side by side.
ExploreWhat an answering service costs
Per minute, per call, per caller and per agent, converted to one number for your volume.
ExploreYouSquared pricing
Personal plans from $0, Business per call, every row of the comparison table.
ExploreThe long read
YouSquared vs. Smith.ai: which AI answering service fits your business?
Explore